Bluegrass Heritage Foundation

< class="art-postheader">City of Farmers Branch wins statewide award for Bloomin’ Bluegrass Festival

City of Farmers Branch wins statewide award
for Bloomin’ Bluegrass Festival

March 1, 2022

We’re thrilled for our friends at the City of Farmers Branch who won the statewide 2022 Promotions and Marketing Excellence Award from Texas Recreation & Park Society!

The award recognizes parks and recreation agencies that provide exemplary sponsorship and creativity in park and recreation events and programs.  We think our friends at the City deserve this award for their incredible 13-year (and counting!) run of support of the Bloomin’ Bluegrass Festival!

Accepting the award for the City were (L-R) Varsha Sareen, Sandy Carter, Meagan Bernard, Geoff Fairchild, and Mayor Robert C. Dye, with Alan Tompkins (back) representing the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation. Congratulations and thanks to the City of Farmers Branch!

< class="art-postheader">Nu-Blu in Concert

Nu-Blu In Concert

Friday March 18, 2022 at 7:15p

University Park United Methodist Church
Fellowship Hall (across from Smith Park)
4024 Caruth Boulevard, Dallas, Texas  75225

A good crowd gathered for a special night of acoustic music with Nu-Blu in the Fellowship Hall of University Park United Methodist Church on Friday, March 18 2022.

North Carolina-based Nu-Blu established themselves as one of the top roots-music acts in the industry, delivering a set of songs that range from the melancholy to the exuberant.  They are working to bring bluegrass music to the masses, serving as the permanent host of nationally-syndicated TV show “Bluegrass Ridge,” which airs in 160 million homes worldwide.

Hailing from Siler City North Carolina, Nu-Blu’s heart and soul is husband-and-wife duo Daniel and Carolyn Routh. Carolyn’s soprano is one of the band’s defining traits.  Daniel is the group’s backbone, a multi-instrumentalist and backing vocalist who also handles band management. Austin Hefflefinger on banjo and Justin Harrison on mandolin round out the quartet’s warm, layered, Appalachian sound.

< class="art-postheader">Bluegrass Heritage Foundation Bluegrass Star Award Presented to Dan Tyminski

Bluegrass Heritage Foundation presents
Bluegrass Star Award® to Dan Tyminski

October 16, 2021
GRAMMY-winning bluegrass music veteran Dan Tyminski was honored with the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation’s Bluegrass Star Award® on Saturday, October 16, 2021 at the Bloomin’ Bluegrass Festival in the Farmers Branch Historical Park in Farmers Branch, Texas.  Tyminski was joined on stage by Del McCoury, who received the Bluegrass Star Award in 2015.

Alan Tompkins, founder of the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation, began the presentation by explaining that the Foundation had created the Bluegrass Star Award in 2010 as a way to honor artists who respected the traditions of bluegrass music and preserved its character while doing an exemplary job of bringing the music to new audiences.  Previous Bluegrass Star Awards have been presented to Rhonda Vincent, J. D. Crowe, Peter Rowan, Sierra Hull, Ricky Skaggs, Del McCoury, Jerry Douglas, and Bobby Osborne. 

Tompkins noted that Dan Tyminski has had a highly successful career as a bluegrass musician, singer, and songwriter that included time as an early member of the popular Lonesome River Band, a run spanning two decades with supergroup Alison Krauss & Union Station, a solo career that featured the release of the award-winning album Wheels, and his voiceover work on the song Man of Constant Sorrow in the film O Brother, Where Art Thou?, released by the Coen Brothers in 2000.  Dan’s interpretation of Man of Constant Sorrow won him both a GRAMMY award and a CMA Award for Best Single in 2001 and served as the anthem for the superstar Soggy Bottom Boys touring band.  Dan has won 14 GRAMMY Awards and numerous other honors for his solo work and his collaborations with other musicians. 

“Dan’s talents have brought bluegrass music to many thousands of new listeners over the course of his career, and he is a worthy recipient of the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation Bluegrass Star Award®.”  For information about Dan Tyminski, visit his website or the Dan Tyminski page on  Video of the award presentation courtesy of David Seay Productions.  Photos courtesy of Nate Dalzell.

Email Signup


Bluegrass Heritage Radio