Bluegrass Heritage Foundation presents
Bluegrass Star Award® to Dan Tyminski

October 16, 2021
GRAMMY-winning bluegrass music veteran Dan Tyminski was honored with the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation’s Bluegrass Star Award® on Saturday, October 16, 2021 at the Bloomin’ Bluegrass Festival in the Farmers Branch Historical Park in Farmers Branch, Texas.  Tyminski was joined on stage by Del McCoury, who received the Bluegrass Star Award in 2015.

Alan Tompkins, founder of the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation, began the presentation by explaining that the Foundation had created the Bluegrass Star Award in 2010 as a way to honor artists who respected the traditions of bluegrass music and preserved its character while doing an exemplary job of bringing the music to new audiences.  Previous Bluegrass Star Awards have been presented to Rhonda Vincent, J. D. Crowe, Peter Rowan, Sierra Hull, Ricky Skaggs, Del McCoury, Jerry Douglas, and Bobby Osborne. 

Tompkins noted that Dan Tyminski has had a highly successful career as a bluegrass musician, singer, and songwriter that included time as an early member of the popular Lonesome River Band, a run spanning two decades with supergroup Alison Krauss & Union Station, a solo career that featured the release of the award-winning album Wheels, and his voiceover work on the song Man of Constant Sorrow in the film O Brother, Where Art Thou?, released by the Coen Brothers in 2000.  Dan’s interpretation of Man of Constant Sorrow won him both a GRAMMY award and a CMA Award for Best Single in 2001 and served as the anthem for the superstar Soggy Bottom Boys touring band.  Dan has won 14 GRAMMY Awards and numerous other honors for his solo work and his collaborations with other musicians. 

“Dan’s talents have brought bluegrass music to many thousands of new listeners over the course of his career, and he is a worthy recipient of the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation Bluegrass Star Award®.”  For information about Dan Tyminski, visit his website or the Dan Tyminski page on  Video of the award presentation courtesy of David Seay Productions.  Photos courtesy of Nate Dalzell.

The Bluegrass Heritage Foundation is a non-profit organization, run by volunteers,
promoting bluegrass music in Texas. While it's free to get in the door to many of our events,
keeping the doors open isn't free. All contributions are greatly appreciated.

Click the donate button to donate online.​




© 2024 Bluegrass Heritage Foundation   P. O. Box 25032, Dallas, Texas 75225  (972) 306-0321

Privacy Policy & Terms of Use 
Bluegrass Heritage Foundation ("BHF") and BHF instrument designs, Making Bluegrass Happen, Play It Forward!,

Bluegrass Star Award, Bluegrass Heritage Festival, Lone Star Fest, and Lone Star Fest banner designs

are trademarks of Bluegrass Heritage Foundation, Reg. U.S. Pat. & Tm. Office.

More results...

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Email Signup


Bluegrass Heritage Radio