Bluegrass for a New Generation

Award-Winning Documentary Short Film about Bluegrass Music

Fanning the Fire Awards

Fanning the Fire features a young Texas teen who followed his dreams from being a fan of bluegrass music all the way to opening for some of the greatest entertainers in the business – in less than three years.  Along the way, the documentary explores why people young and old get hooked on playing this music and enjoying companionship at festivals around the world.  Viewers also enjoy behind-the-scenes visits with master musicians from across the USA and Europe who explain how they came to appreciate this uniquely American form of music and why it has broad appeal to beginning players and professionals alike.  Along with the story of Lucas White, Fanning the Fire features interview and live performance footage of legendary bluegrass musicians (including many GRAMMY® winners and nominees) such as Dan Tyminski, J. D. Crowe, Rhonda Vincent & The Rage, Adam Steffey, Claire Lynch, Dudley Connell, and others.  Fanning the Fire is a fast-moving look at where bluegrass music has been and where it’s going.

Fanning the Fire was produced by the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation and David Seay Productions, a professional video production company based in Plano, Texas.  The film was shot entirely on location in the Texas cities of Farmers Branch, Arlington, Dallas, Corsicana, and Canton.  A portion of the funding for the project was provided by the Foundation for Bluegrass Music.

Fanning the Fire won the 2011 Best Documentary Music/Culture Award at the Film Festival of Colorado, the 2011 Best Short Documentary Award at the Rockport Film Festival, the 2011 People’s Choice Award at the Glen Rose Neo-Relix Film Festival, and the James B. Storey American Experience Award at the Flatland Film Festival.

The Fanning the Fire DVD contains the documentary short along with extended interview footage with the bluegrass stars who appear in the movie. The total running time of the DVD is approximately an hour and six minutes. Get a copy of the DVD free with your donation of at least $15 to the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation.

Fanning the Fire on Facebook

Fanning the Fire on IMDB

Alan W. Tompkins

David Seay

David Seay

Derrick Birdsall | Artie Rose | Becky Johnson | Bob Compere


Rhonda Vincent, Jay Altizer, Hunter Berry, Sandy Blankenship, Jeff Burke, Cody Crabtree, J. D. Crowe, Matt DeSpain, Keith Garrett, Hannah Harper, Dillon Harper, Dalton Harper, Katrina Harper, Gaylon Harper, Mickey Harris, Mikayla Harris, Ben Helson, Chris Herrin, Jeremy Herrin, Carole Jenkins, David Jenkins, Hannah Johnson, Sophia Johnson, “The” Gerald Jones“The” Nate LeeClaire Lynch, Raphael Maillet, Dwight McCall, Aaron McDaris, Ryan McKillip, Josh McMurray, Mona Parker, Jay Parker, Elizabeth Patton, Kyle Perkins, Daniel Perry, Cory Piatt, Justin Roberts, Susie Seace, Adam Steffey, Ron Stewart, Matt Tessier, Alan W. Tompkins, Dan Tyminski, Vida Wakeman, Rickey Wasson, Lucas White, Kenny Williams.

Download Digital Press Kit

The Bluegrass Heritage Foundation is a non-profit organization, run by volunteers,
promoting bluegrass music in Texas. While it's free to get in the door to many of our events,
keeping the doors open isn't free. All contributions are greatly appreciated.

Click the donate button to donate online.​




© 2024 Bluegrass Heritage Foundation   P. O. Box 25032, Dallas, Texas 75225  (972) 306-0321

Privacy Policy & Terms of Use 
Bluegrass Heritage Foundation ("BHF") and BHF instrument designs, Making Bluegrass Happen, Play It Forward!,

Bluegrass Star Award, Bluegrass Heritage Festival, Lone Star Fest, and Lone Star Fest banner designs

are trademarks of Bluegrass Heritage Foundation, Reg. U.S. Pat. & Tm. Office.

More results...

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Email Signup


Bluegrass Heritage Radio