Foundation President nominated for two IBMA Momentum Awards

Alan TompkinsSeptember 8, 2015
Alan W. Tompkins, President and founder of the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation, has been nominated by the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) for two prestigious Momentum Awards.  The winners of the 2015 Momentum Awards will be announced at a luncheon on September 30 in Raleigh, North Carolina, as part of IBMA’s World of Bluegrass.

The Momentum Awards were created to recognize both musicians and industry professionals who, while in the early stages of their careers, have contributed to, or had an influence on, bluegrass music.  Starting with recommendations from the IBMA membership, nominees are chosen by committees through a multi-stage process involving respected musicians and industry leaders.

International Bluegrass Music AssociationAlan has been nominated for both the Mentor Award, given to a bluegrass professional who has made a significant impact on the lives and careers of newcomers to the industry, and the Industry Involvement Award.

Alan commented that “it’s a huge honor to be nominated for these awards, but nothing I’ve done would be possible without the incredible support of our Bluegrass Heritage Foundation family – our sponsors, donors, volunteers, staffers, board members, the folks who attend our events and, of course, all the incredible artists who play for (and with) us.  Any recognition that I get is really due to all of them.”  We wish Alan the best!

The Bluegrass Heritage Foundation is a non-profit organization, run by volunteers,
promoting bluegrass music in Texas. While it's free to get in the door to many of our events,
keeping the doors open isn't free. All contributions are greatly appreciated.

Click the donate button to donate online.​




© 2024 Bluegrass Heritage Foundation   P. O. Box 25032, Dallas, Texas 75225  (972) 306-0321

Privacy Policy & Terms of Use 
Bluegrass Heritage Foundation ("BHF") and BHF instrument designs, Making Bluegrass Happen, Play It Forward!,

Bluegrass Star Award, Bluegrass Heritage Festival, Lone Star Fest, and Lone Star Fest banner designs

are trademarks of Bluegrass Heritage Foundation, Reg. U.S. Pat. & Tm. Office.

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Email Signup


Bluegrass Heritage Radio