Alan Tompkins nominated for 2018 IBMA
Bluegrass Broadcaster of the Year Award

Alan TompkinsAugust 9, 2018
Alan W. Tompkins, President and founder of the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation, has been nominated, for a third year in a row, by the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) for the Bluegrass Broadcaster of the Year Award based on his work on the Bluegrass Heritage Radio Show.  The winner will be announced at a luncheon on Thursday Sept. 27 in Raleigh, North Carolina.

The IBMA Bluegrass Broadcaster of the Year Award recognizes outstanding service to bluegrass music in the field of broadcasting.  Recipients are judged on their contributions to the field of endeavor, professionalism (including their work in their community), and their ability to foster the image of bluegrass music.  Starting with IBMA member recommendations, nominees are chosen by committees of respected musicians and industry leaders.

Alan said that he was “sincerely honored to be nominated for this prestigious award.  Larry Carter, Michelle Lee, Steve Martin, and Kris Truelson are highly-respected bluegrass broadcasters, and I am proud to stand with them.  I owe my thanks to those who have supported me in the success of the Bluegrass Heritage Radio Show – the crew at KHYI-FM 95.3 The Range in Dallas for their faith in my ability to put on a show, to Gerald Jones for helping me to create the show, to my wife Julie for her patience over the years, and to my daughter Jessica Lynn for her energy and creativity.  Most of all, I appreciate the folks who listen in on KHYI-FM 95.3.”

The Bluegrass Heritage Foundation is a non-profit organization, run by volunteers,
promoting bluegrass music in Texas. While it's free to get in the door to many of our events,
keeping the doors open isn't free. All contributions are greatly appreciated.

Click the donate button to donate online.​




© 2024 Bluegrass Heritage Foundation   P. O. Box 25032, Dallas, Texas 75225  (972) 306-0321

Privacy Policy & Terms of Use 
Bluegrass Heritage Foundation ("BHF") and BHF instrument designs, Making Bluegrass Happen, Play It Forward!,

Bluegrass Star Award, Bluegrass Heritage Festival, Lone Star Fest, and Lone Star Fest banner designs

are trademarks of Bluegrass Heritage Foundation, Reg. U.S. Pat. & Tm. Office.

More results...

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Email Signup


Bluegrass Heritage Radio