Bluegras Heritage Foundation | Making Bluegrass Happen

A Documentary Short Film

Fanning the Fire is a vibrant documentary short that features a young Texas teen that followed his dreams from being a fan of bluegrass music all the way to opening for some of the greatest entertainers in the business – in less than three years.  Along the way, the documentary explores why people young and old get hooked on playing this music and enjoying companionship at festivals around the world.  Viewers also enjoy behind-the-scenes visits with master musicians from across the USA and Europe who explain how they came to appreciate this uniquely American form of music and why it has broad appeal to beginning players and professionals alike. 

Along with the story of Lucas White, Fanning the Fire features interview and live performance footage of legendary bluegrass musicians (including many GRAMMY® winners and nominees) such as Dan Tyminski, J. D. Crowe, Rhonda Vincent & The Rage, Adam Steffey, Claire Lynch, Dudley Connell, and others.  Fanning the Fire is a fast-moving look at where bluegrass music has been and where it’s going. 

Fanning the Fire was produced by the Bluegrass Heritage Foundation and David Seay Productions, a professional video production company based in Plano, Texas.  The film was shot entirely on location in the Texas cities of Farmers Branch, Arlington, Dallas, Corsicana, and Canton.  A portion of the funding for the project was provided by the Foundation for Bluegrass Music.

The Fanning the Fire DVD contains the documentary short along with extended interview footage with the bluegrass stars who appear in the movie. The total running time of the DVD is approximately an hour and six minutes. Get a copy of the DVD free with your donation of at least $15 to the Bluegrass Heritge Foundation.

Order Fanning the Fire on DVD by mail

Follow Fanning the Fire on Facebook

Fanning the Fire on

Alan W. Tompkins

David Seay

David Seay

Derrick Birdsall
Artie Rose
Becky Johnson
Bob Compere


Jay Altizer
Hunter Berry
Sandy Blankenship
Jeff Burke
Cody Crabtree
J. D. Crowe
Matt DeSpain
Keith Garrett
Hannah Harper
Dillon Harper
Dalton Harper
Katrina Harper
Gaylon Harper
Mickey Harris
Mikayla Harris
Ben Helson

Chris Herrin
Jeremy Herrin
Carole Jenkins
David Jenkins
Hannah Johnson
Sophia Johnson
“The” Gerald Jones
“The” Nate Lee
Claire Lynch
Raphael Maillet
Dwight McCall
Aaron McDaris
Ryan McKillip
Josh McMurray
Mona Parker
Jay Parker
Elizabeth Patton
Kyle Perkins
Daniel Perry
Cory Piatt
Justin Roberts
Susie Seace
Adam Steffey
Ron Stewart
Matt Tessier
Alan W. Tompkins
Dan Tyminski
Vida Wakeman
Rickey Wasson
Lucas White
Kenny Williams
Rhonda Vincent

Download Digital Press Kit

The Bluegrass Heritage Foundation welcomes your donations to preserve and promote the heritage of bluegrass music in America. Click the donate button to donate online. YOUR INQUIRIES AND DONATIONS ARE WELCOMED!

Sign Up for Free Bluegrass Event Updates.

Heritage Foundation
Advisory Board

Deb Bledsoe
Greg Cahill
Mike Drudge
Ned Luberecki
Claire Lynch
Alan Munde
Missy Raines
Jim Roe
Herb Sandker
Amanda Smith
Kenny Smith
Rhonda Vincent

MySpace Bluegrass Heritage Foundation

Home | About | News | Festival | Events | Past Events | History | Photos | Store | Contact | Links | Terms & Conditions